Who and where

Yes, my name is not Tambrix, but Federica, the italian version of the german name Frederik. I was born few years ago in Pesaro, a small town south of Rimini, in Italy. My parents, Cesarina and Alfio still live there.

After high-school, I went to the University in Urbino, a wonderful small medioeval town 35 km from Pesaro, where I studied Geology. Then I spent 4 years in Neuchâtel, then 1 year and a half in Cape Cod.

I am currently a post-doc at the ETH (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) in Zürich (check my Work page).

What

Since the age of 7, I have been playing classic guitar, I have also spent some years studying at the Conservatory "Rossini" in Pesaro. My favorite composer is Heitor Villa Lobos, great brazilian composer. I love music, any kind (well, almost): Jack Johnson (JJ, went to his concert this year in Zurich, fantastic!), Red Hot Chili Peppers, Coldplay, Damien Rice, Elvis, the Beatles, many '40 - '50s singers, Mich Gerber (especially in the morning and in good company), Wim Mertens. My iPod is my favorite companion... And I am a Mac fan, of course!

I enjoy dancing salsa, and I am lucky because here in Zürich there are many nice clubs and great dancers too. I started with salsa in 2001, and now I am taking a class on Portorican style, really nice and elegant. I love walking, and here in Switzerland there are incredible places where one can spend time enjoying nature (visit the Photo Albums).

I also like cooking, and being italian, I love pasta and tiramisu' (check some of my recipes in my News and Recipes page)! Other things I like, well, going to the movie, going on holiday and spend time with my friends, of course. Enough?